PMU Core Competencies

Each of the degree programs within the College of Architecture and Design will maintain values consistent with the undergraduate goals of the university. The development of eight distinctive competencies is considered to be of value to all effective professionals.
The eight PMU defining competencies are:

  • Communication
  • Technological Competence
  • Critical Thinking and Problem Solving
  • Professional Competence
  • Teamwork
  • Leadership
  • Global Connectedness
  • Conflict Resolution

These eight learning outcomes are intended to ensure that PMU students also will possess professional skills as well as the knowledge required for mastery of the theoretical structures and methodologies of academic disciplines. The PMU competencies will further enhance the student’s ability to function effectively as a practitioner and scholar in a selected field.