Menu
Admissions & Registration > Registration Office > Academic Year 2016/2017
ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2016 / 2017 (1437 / 1438)

Fall Semester - 2016 / 2017 (1437 / 1438)

FALL SEMESTER 2016 - 2017
Hijri Date Day Gregorian Date Events
4 Thul-Qi’dah 1437 Sun August 7, 2016 Returning Faculty reporting date
13 Thul-Hijjah 1437 Wed September 14, 2016 Summer faculty reporting date 
14 Thul-Qi’dah - 7 Thul-Hijjah 1437 Wed - Thu August 17 - September 8, 2016 Registration Period for students 
18 Thul-Hijjah 1437 Mon September 19, 2016 Orientation for the new students 
17 Thul-Hijjah 1437  Sun September 18, 2016 Classes begin 
17 - 21 Thul-Hijjah 1437  Sun - Thu September 18 - 22, 2016 Late registration and Add/ Drop  
17 - 28 Thul-Hijjah 1437 Sun - Thu September 18 - 29, 2016 Drop Only without charge
22 Thul-Hijjah 1437 Fri September 23, 2016 National Day 
10 Safar 1438  Thu November 10, 2016 Last day of classes before mid semester break 
13 - 17 Safar 1438 Sun - Thu November 13 - 17, 2016 Mid semester break for faculty and students 
20 Safar 1438 Sun November 20, 2016 Classes Resume 
2 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1438 Thu December 1, 2016 Last day for withdrawing courses with grade of "W"  
26 - 30 Rabi’ al-Awwal 1438 Sun - Thu December 25 - 29, 2016 Advising Week for Spring Semester 2016/2017
7 Rabi’ al-Thani 1438  Thu January 5, 2017 Last day for withdrawing courses with grade of "WP/WF",  Last day of classes
10 - 20 Rabi’ al-Thani 1438 Sun - Wed January 8 - 18, 2017 Final Exams  
21 Rabi’ al-Thani 1438  Thu January 19, 2017 Deadline for submitting grades to the Registrar's office 
21 Rabi’ al-Thani 1438  Thu January 19, 2017 Last working day for faculty members 
24 - 28 Rabi’ al-Thani 1438 Sun - Thu January 22 - 26, 2017 Mid-year break for faculty and students 

Sundays= 15, Mondays= 15, Tuesdays= 15, Wednesdays= 16, Thursday=16

*The academic calendar is subject to change in compliance with the Ministry of Higher Education regulations.
*This academic calendar is not applicable to Deans, Chairs, Associate Chairs, Academic Coordinators and Directors.
Click here to download Academic Calendar 2016/2017

Spring Semester - 2016 / 2017 (1437 / 1438)

SPRING SEMESTER 2016 - 2017
Hijri Date Day Gregorian Date Events
1 Jumada al-Ula 1438 Sun January 29, 2017 Faculty reporting date 
1 - 5 Jumada al-Ula 1438 Sun - Thu January 24 - February 2, 2017 Registration Period for students 
8 Jumada al-Ula 1438  Sun February 5, 2017 Classes begin 
8 - 12 Jumada al-Ula 1438  Sun - Thu February 5 - 9, 2017 Late registration and Add/ Drop 
8 - 19 Jumada al-Ula 1438 Sun - Thu February 5 - 16, 2017 Drop Only without charge
2 Rajab 1438  Thu March 30, 2017 Last day of classes before mid semester break 
5 - 9 Rajab 1438  Sun - Thu April 2 - 6, 2017 Mid semester break for faculty and students 
12 Rajab 1438  Sun April 9, 2017 Classes resume 
23 Rajab 1438 Thu April 20, 2017 Last day for withdrawing courses with grade of "W" 
26 Rajab - 1 Sha’ban 1438  Sun - Thu April 23 - 27, 2017 Advising Week for Summer Semester 2016/2017
4 - 8 Sha’ban 1438  Sun - Thu April 30 - May 4, 2017 Early registration for summer semester 2016/2017  through Banner self service 
29 Sha’ban 1438  Thu May 25, 2017 Last day for withdrawing courses with grade of "WP/WF", Last day of classes  
2 - 12 Ramadhan 1438 Sun - wed May 28 - June 7, 2017 Final exams 
13 Ramadhan 1438  Thu June 8, 2017 Deadline for submitting grades to the Registrar's office 
13 Ramadhan 1438  Thu June 8, 2017 Last working day for faculty members 
16 Ramadhan - 18 Thul-Qi’dah 1438 Sun - Thu June 11 - 10 August, 2017 Faculty annual leave (60 Days) 
19 Thul-Hijjah 1438  Sun September 10, 2017 Fall Semester 2017/ 2018 begins  

Sundays= 15, Mondays= 15, Tuesdays= 15, Wednesdays= 15, Thursday=15

*The academic calendar is subject to change in compliance with the Ministry of Higher Education regulations.
*This academic calendar is not applicable to Deans, Chairs, Associate Chairs, Academic Coordinators and Directors.
Click here to download Academic Calendar 2016/2017

Summer Semester - 2016 / 2017 (1437 / 1438)

SUMMER SEMESTER 2016 - 2017
Hijri Date Day Gregorian Date Events
19 - 22 Ramadhan 1438 Wed - Sat June 14 - 17, 2017 Registration confirmation for pre-registered students through Banner self service 
22 Ramadhan 1438 Sat June 17, 2017 Summer faculty reporting date 
23 Ramadhan 1438 Sun June 18, 2017 Classes begin 
27 Ramadhan 1438 Thu June 22, 2017 Last day of classes before Eid Al-Fitr 
1 - 5 Shawwal 1438  Sun -Thu June 25 - 29, 2017 Eid Al-Fitr holiday for faculty and students 
8 Shawwal 1438 Sun July 2, 2017 Classes Resume 
26 Shawwal 1438  Thu July 20, 2017 Last day for withdrawing courses with grade of "W" 
18 Thul-Qi’dah 1438 Thu August 10, 2017 Last day for withdrawing courses with grade of "WP/WF", Last day of classes 
21 - 23 Thul-Qi’dah 1438 Sun - Tue August 13 - 15, 2017 Final exams 
24 Thul-Qi’dah 1438 Wed August 16, 2017 Deadline for submitting grades to the Registrar's office 
5 - 16 Thul-Hijjah 1438  Sun - Thu August 27 - 7 September, 2017 Summer faculty break
19 Thul-Hijjah 1438  Sun September 10, 2017 Fall Semester 2017/ 2018 begins 

Sundays= 7, Mondays= 7, Tuesdays= 7, Wednesdays= 7, Thursdays=7

*The academic calendar is subject to change in compliance with the Ministry of Higher Education regulations.
*This academic calendar is not applicable to Deans, Chairs, Associate Chairs, Academic Coordinators and Directors.
Click here to download Academic Calendar 2016/2017